

Cuyahoga County
Community Mental Health Board

1400 West 25th Street, 3rd Floor • Cleveland, Ohio • 44113-3199 TEL: (216) 241-3400 • FAX: (216) 861-5067 • TDD/TTY: (216) 241-3983

For Immediate Release:

October 8, 2002

Contact: Scott S. Osiecki, Director of External Affairs

216-241-3400, ext. 326 osiecki@cccmhb.org

CCCMHB Shows Support of Federal Mental Health Insurance Parity

Cleveland, Ohio – The Cuyahoga County Community Mental Health Board (CCCMHB) Governors unanimously approved a resolution showing their support of the Federal Mental Health Insurance Parity Bill – HR 4066.

"We are calling all governments to take a stand, raise awareness and pass similar resolutions in support of mental health insurance parity. Passage of parity offers millions of Americans access to treatment for mental illness and the opportunity to live full and productive lives," stated Board Chair, Bonnie Caplan.

William M. Denihan, Chief Executive Officer, explained, "Passage of this resolution illustrates the Cuyahoga County Community Mental Health Board's strong support for the passage of HR 4066, which would provide equal coverage of mental health benefits with respect to health insurance coverage, unless comparable limitations are imposed on medical and surgical benefits."

Each year, mental illness affects the lives of one out of every five Americans. Health insurance discrimination against Americans living with mental illness bankrupts families and places a tremendous burden on taxpayers through suicide, homelessness, loss of productivity and inappropriate "criminalization" of mental illness.

- MORE-

CCCMHB Shows Support of Federal Mental Health Insurance Parity/ Page 2

To raise awareness of the CCCMHB's support, the resolution will be issued to President George W. Bush; U.S. Rep. Ralph Regula, Vice Chairman of the Appropriations Committee; the Cuyahoga County Delegation of the U.S. House of Representatives and local governments.

The CCCMHB also thanks President Bush for his support of mental health insurance parity and his efforts to have a parity bill passed this year.

#

NOTE:

CCCMHB Resolution #02-09-08 – Support of the Federal Mental Health

Insurance Parity Bill - is attached.

Chief Denihan and Chair Caplan are available for interview by

contacting Scott Osiecki, Director of External Affairs, at

216-241-3400, ext. 326.



CUYAHOGA COUNTY COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH BOARD

RESOLUTION NO. 02-09-08

SUPPORT OF THE FEDERAL MENTAL HEALTH INSURANCE PARITY BILL

WHEREAS, HR 4066, the Mental Health Equitable Treatment Act, a bill to require equal mental health benefits in health insurance coverage, was introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives on March 20, 2002 and is now pending in the House Education and Workforce and Energy and Commerce committees; and

WHEREAS, HR 4066 is currently cosponsored by 242 members of the House and is supported by 234 national organizations; and

WHEREAS, the Cuyahoga County Community Mental Health Board (CCCMHB) strongly supports the passage of HR 4066 to increase the access to treatment for millions of Americans suffering from mental illnesses; and

WHEREAS, HR 4066 would provide equal coverage of mental health benefits with respect to health insurance coverage, unless comparable limitations are imposed on medical and surgical benefits; and

WHEREAS, each year, mental illness affects the lives of one out of every five Americans, and health insurance discrimination against Americans living with mental illness bankrupts families and places a tremendous burden on taxpayers through suicide, homelessness, loss of productivity and inappropriate "criminalization" of mental illness.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. The CCCMHB Board of Governors hereby strongly supports the passage of HR 4066, the Mental Health Equitable Treatment Act, to increase access to treatment of mental illness, offering millions of Americans the opportunity to live full and productive lives.
- 2. A copy of this resolution will be provided to President George W. Bush; U.S. Rep. Ralph Regula, Vice Chairman of the Appropriations Committee; the Cuyahoga County Delegation of the U.S. House of Representatives and local governments.

On the motion of Irene Brudno, seconded by Al Kay, the foregoing resolution was adopted.

AYES:

John Bazyk, Bonita Caplan, Al Kay, Ella Patterson, Michael Thomas,

Mohan Durve, M.D., Joan Leeb, Joan Schmetzer, Jesse Waller

David Blank, M.D.,

Ann Hull, George Mechir, William Sheehan,

Irene Brudno,

DATE ADOPTED: September 25, 2002